Livingston County NYGenweb

Livingston County was formed Feb. 23, 1821, from Genesee and Ontario Counties. A portion of Allegany County was annexed in 1846 followed by a second portion in 1856. Livingston's parent county, Ontario County, was formed from Montgomery County in 1789. Montgomery was formed from Albany County (one of the original NYS counties) in 1772 and was known as Tryon County until 1784. Livingston is surrounded by Monroe, Ontario, Steuben, Allegany, Wyoming, and Genesee counties. The 1860 census showed 39,256 residents. The Genesee River cuts through the northwestern portion of the county. Conesus Lake (near the center) and Hemlock Lake(along the eastern border) are the only considerable bodies of water.

Welcome to Livingston County!

I hope we can help you find bits and pieces of your family history.

Older features and formats on this site are continually being updated. Please pardon the inconsistencies as this takes place.

Livingston County Coordinator: Lynn Tooley

NY Plate TheLivingston County NYGenWeb site is part of the NYGenWeb project. Click on the NYGenWeb license plate image to the right, for a link to the NYGenWeb site. If you would like more information about the NYGenWeb project, or if youare interested in adopting a New York county, please contact the NYGenWeb State coordinator Robert G. Sullivan.

Livingston County Townships

Click on the Township name, or click on the map.

Portage Nunda West Sparta Ossian Springwater Sparta Conesus Livonia York Caledonia Mount Morris Leicester North Dansville Groveland Geneseo Lima Avon

Search Our Site

Adjacent counties


This page is part of The USGenWeb Project. Modeled after the Kentucky GenWeb project, organized by a group of genealogists in 1996 and originally developed for counties in Kentucky where collected databases would be stored, it was later expanded to include all states.